Product detail

The Orphan Master's Son

The Orphan Master's Son

Author: Adam Johnson
$19.99(AUD)  inc GST
Available Stock: 0
Description

"You know you are in the hands of someone who can tell a story ...fantastic". (Zadie Smith). Pak Jun Do knows he is special. He knows he must be the son of the master of the orphanage, not some kid dumped by his parents - it was obvious from the way his father singled him out for beatings. He knows he is special when he is picked as a spy and kidnapper for his country, the glorious Democratic Republic of North Korea. He knows he must find his true love, Sun Moon, the greatest opera star who ever lived, before it's too late. He knows he's not like the other prisoners in the camp. He's going to get out soon. Definitely.

Promotion info

Ground-breaking story about a young man's journey through the prison camps and dictatorship of North Korea - for fans of David Mitchell and Escape from Prison Camp 14.

Reviews

An addictive novel of daring ingenuity; a study of sacrifice and freedom in a citizen-eating dynasty; and a timely reminder that anonymous victims of oppression are also human beings who love. A brave and impressive book -- David Mitchell, Author Of The Thousand Autumns Of Jacob De Zoet A flamboyantly grim epic of totalitarianism. this larger-than-life, two-fisted picaresque manages to be a page-turner... an ambitious book The Sunday Times One of those books where you know you've found yourself in the hands of someone who can really tell a story, and is yet not naive about the artificiality of stories. The conceit is fantastic: a narration partly told through the loud speakers of the North Korean regime. -- Zadie Smith Fast-paced and intriguing. this complex, multi-voiced narrative will remind some readers of David Mitchell's similarly inventive tale, Cloud Atlas. It is magnificent Financial Times What we have here are the ingredients of an across-the-board smash hit: sympathetic characters, an exotic, unknowable setting and a plot that will carry you along more convincingly than any of the fictions used by the Democratic People's Republic of Korea. -- David Annand Sunday Telegraph

Author description

Adam Johnson teaches creative writing at Stanford University. He is the award-winning author of Emporium, a short story collection, and the novel Parasites Like Us. His fiction has appeared in Esquire, Harper's, Paris Review, Playboy, Tin House and Best American Short Stories. His new novel THE ORPHAN MASTER'S SON was excerpted by Granta, and featured on the NYT bestsellers' list.

Stock Information

General Fields

  • : 9780552778251
  • : Transworld Publishers Ltd
  • : Black Swan
  • : March 2012
  • : 198mm X 127mm
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : Adam Johnson
  • : Paperback
  • : 413
  • : English
  • : 592